Teigngrace Halt

South Devon & Moretonhampstead Railway

Great Western Railway

BR Western Region

Freight Only Line Currently Mothballed

 

TEIGNGRACE HALT

 

Built by the SD&MR as a private station for the Lord of the Manor in return for permission to run the railway over his land. Not an uncommon occurence in the early days of railways. Renamed Teigngrace Halt by the Great Western Railway (GWR) in 1939. It had a single platform, with a ticket office and waiting room. Today the hamlet has change little and still only boasts a population os around 100, there could never have been much traffic from this halt and it is believed to have been a request stop all its working life and would remain so were the line ever reopened to passenger services. In around 1961 the South Devon Railway Society leased Teigngrace Halt as their headquarters and carried out some repairs and renovation works.

 

The platform was still in situ, as was the ruined station building in 1975. The old Stover Canal runs parallel to the line at this point and locks were located nearby.